Our Directors

Our Directors

All instructors at Robert’s American School are native English speakers from English speaking countries and have an accredited university degree or an English teaching qualification. All teachers are screened and trained (through a set of training modules developed by Robert) and have an interest in teaching and enjoy working with children.  Our teachers not only demonstrate professionalism, but know how to motivate students to work hard and feel proud of their success in learning a new language.

Founder/Academic Director (Robert)

Robert Minor is the founder of RAS and hails from the East Coast of the United States. He has a B.A. from Bowdoin College where he majored in Asian Studies/Mandarin Chinese. He is a fluent speaker of Mandarin Chinese and studied Mandarin in Beijing, China for one year.  Robert has a Master's Degree in Education in International Teaching from Framingham State University in Massachusetts.

 

Since 1992, Robert has been involved in ELL (English Language Learning) education, during which he has taught at the Kaohsiung American School, the San Francisco Chinese American International School, and was Director of the ASPECT International Language School in San Francisco.

 

Upon opening RAS, Robert planned the curriculum, wrote numerous books, and developed a teaching pedagogy for teachers to follow.  His efforts have helped students achieve remarkable results.  Robert has also been invited to speak about education at Wen Zao Ursuline University and Feng Chia University in Taiwan.

 

Robert enjoys outdoor activities. He is an avid traveler and enjoys cycling and running.  He has a passion for mountain hiking。 In 2020, he climbed his 100th of the Taiwan 100 Peaks thus finishing the list and completing a goal that took 12 years. 

Robert is a co-host of The Teach and Live Abroad Podcast https://teachabroad.podbean.com/

Robert @ Linked In

Mingcheng Branch Director (Shane)

 

Shane Stubbins hails from Toronto, Canada. He has been in teaching in Taiwan for 20 years and is currently the is the RAS Ming Cheng Branch Director.

 

Shane has been instrumental in shaping the RAS curriculum in the past several years as the school has started to use a blended approach in its teaching style. He has also developed several programs for teaching novels at RAS.

Shane is an avid cyclist and can be seen in racing events around Taiwan often placing in his age group. He lives with his wife and teenage daughter in Kaohsiung, City. 

Shane Stubbins Teaching.jpg

創辦人/教育主任

在中美授課的老師都是來自於英語系國家,具有經認可的大學學士學位抑或是英語教學資格認證的老師。所有的老師都是經過篩選、訓練(通過Robert Minor所制定的一套訓練課程)且具有豐富的教學經驗,上課充滿活力,熱愛教學,並且喜歡與小孩子相處。他們所帶給學校及小朋友的不僅只是專業更能夠帶給小朋友一個正面積極,快樂的學習態度。
 

中美也設立了國小安親課輔課程,每一位安親課輔老師都具有豐富的帶班經驗,不僅只是在中文課業上的協助、解惑,同時對每一位小朋友的生活常規上也有一定的要求與輔導。每一位老師都非常具有愛心、耐心並且樂與小朋友相處。

創辦人/教務主任 (Robert)
中美的創辦人Robert Minor來自於美國東岸,畢業於Bowdoin 大學,在校主修中文,曾赴北京學習,同時也獲得美國麻州Framingham 州立大學國際教育教學碩士學位。


自1992年起Robert Minor即投身於ESL(English as Second Language)教育,在此期間任教於高雄美國學校、補習班課程規劃與教學、舊金山中美國際小學、舊金山ASPECT國際語言學校主任。


Robert Minor自創立中美以來,致力於課程的規劃、撰寫相關書籍搭配學習、師資的篩選及培訓,以期培育出優秀的英文學習者。而他的努力使得多數學生的成績顯著並獲得許多家長、教
授的肯定與認同。進而很榮幸的應邀至文藻大學以及逢甲大學演講英語教學技巧。


Robert Minor非常熱愛大自然,喜歡戶外活動。經常參與路跑、三鐵,更熱愛登山.他2020年登完了台灣的百岳。(完百了!)
 

在中美Robert最開心看到的是小朋友能快樂的學習語言,自然的用第二語言交談,自己閱讀理解原文書籍,並且都能輕鬆應付台灣國、高中的英文課程,更有的是早期的學生也能將此語言
能力運用在工作上,這就是Robert在英語教學這條路上所獲得最大的喜悅。

Robert @ Linked In

明誠校學務主任 (Shane)
Shane Stubbins 來自於加拿大多倫多在台灣居住並任教已20年,已經結婚並且育有一個女兒。他非常喜愛並享受與他女兒相處的時光,也熱愛騎腳踏車與登山。

北高雄學美語

Shane Stubbins Teaching.jpg